A tiny note – this is more of a personal essay about a subject that’s been on my mind for a while. It’s a bit different from what I usually write; I hope you find in it a warm reminder that it’s okay to take your time and way with things.


I met Grief for the first time when I was 9. It came slow and kindly when I lost someone I barely knew but had gotten used to seeing around. Since then, I’ve begun to see it here and there but lately – grief is all I see everywhere. The past few years and months, in particular have been littered with news that is haunting, heart-breaking and difficult. Sometimes it’s personal but mostly, it’s been so globally human, that I’ve begun to lose all sense of perception.

My days of not recognizing the people death claims are long gone. These days, it seems as if I’ve known everyone to an extent – forgotten celebrities, relatives I never grew to love and pets that left too soon. I like to believe it’s because I’ve been more involved with the media since COVID forced us into a largely online world but the truth is much more simple, uncomplicated and with no parties to blame – I’m growing old and so is the world around me. Breaking voices, wrinkles that appear out of the blue and a strand of white here and there jolt me to the present everyday And with that came the daunting idea that grieving would soon be a part of my normal.

I’ve read that grief comes in waves. But it often feels as though it is acceptance and not grief that does. Some days are easier than others, a transition period of sorts for the realization to sink in, time for that infinite void of pain to open up and swallow you whole. Other days exist in the form of nonchalance and numbness where the world simply fails to make sense. Acceptance feels like the one stranger I’ll never meet, let alone a friend I can turn to for solace.

Losing someone you love or have simply known for years is undoubtedly a painful experience. The world changes because you’ve never known a world without them. I could have never imagined a world without grandparents and yet, that is my normal now. It’s immensely disconcerting when the grieving doesn’t begin when you think it will or terrifying when you find yourself unable to shed a single tear. When I lost someone dear, it made me feel so awful when I realised I wasn’t feeling as sad as I ought to. Someone whose absence changed my world forever and I wasn’t feeling sad. I wasn’t grieving. And a part of me felt obligated to.

But, grief shouldn’t be a responsibility. It’s a response.

And respond, I did. Grief wasn’t merciful enough to come in waves. It washed over me, one fine day and I was constantly drowning. Somedays, I’d be pushed so deep, that I’d go for days without the sun. Now, the world feels eternally cold and all I see is death and loss and pain everywhere. It feels quite unfair to be told to accept it, that this is what life is – that this singular feeling of helplessness is part of what growth and maturity entails.

Sometimes I sit up in the night and confide in the dark because the days don’t make sense anymore. Sometimes I cry and let the darkness hold me close. I talk and tell the walls truths I’ll never utter again. I let the night wash over me and I simply sit. Talking, crying, praying, hoping, dreaming and finally, mourning.

And sometimes I’ll see the grief take form, unsaid words growing a skin and I think about where it all went wrong. Or if it ever did at all and whether I’ve simply been a child for too long, too young to see the world and too ignorant to make an effort. Personally, accepting grief doesn’t mean welcoming grief or accepting it as a natural part of my day – I simply acknowledge it.

When I feel particularly down, I acknowledge the grief weighing me down and I let myself grieve. I take time to respond to the mind-numbing realization that the world is changing every second. My heart aches for the adults in my life as I begin to realize how deeply they’ve been scarred by the losses in their lives. And my respect for them grows a hundredfold as I watch the strength they demonstrate every single day.

We’re losing good, kind, amazing people and friends every second. At any given moment, there’s someone whose grief is engulfing them, where everything just seems unreal – and then I think about how the world is always grieving some form of loss. And acceptance always seems to be one wave away from our shores.

Thoughtfully yours,
D

Previously on Random Specific Thoughts:

37 responses to “Accepting Grief”

  1. Deepthy, I have experienced grief as moments of ambush at the most unexpected times. Eventually, grief subsides (most of the time), replaced by beautiful memories. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. That is true too. Acceptance comes with time. And sometimes the grief renews itself and we have to deal with it all over again

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Grief can almost be seen as seasons. Sometimes you’re in spring, when things remind you positively of what you’re missing. Sometimes it’s winter, and you see no way out and no better days ahead. But spring always comes again, with the gentle acceptance that it will eventually be cold once more. Just like with the seasons, you know there’s challenges to both. There are harder days, easier days, and it’s a process that never ends. But there will be light again. 🌟
    Grief doesn’t stop, but life doesn’t either. We keep moving forward and navigate all the seasons, the warmer and the colder months, adapting to both in a way that makes us stronger and more capable the next time it comes around. It’s all preparing us and making us stronger.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. For me grief can surprise me when I least expect it but I do notice over time the intensity of the pain decreases but it’s always there. Hugs, C

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Grief is a part of our living emotions. Thanks for sharing your journey with it

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Deepthy, We’re deeply connected with one another through grief. And the global environment that exists today—whether we know details or not—touch our DNA and puts us out of touch with our understanding of ‘normal’ in the intimate way our normal thrived in our family hood . It’s more than our immediate families now; More than the solace of the darkest corners in our rooms where once we communed with our griefs and discontents.
    We have now become global citizens that our personal griefs pale in comparison with the world out there.

    I was just questioning this very emotion this morning. My late father’s youngest brother passed away this weekend. And I feel unworthy of grieving considering the current wars ravaging others of flesh and bones like me. I’m comparing. My grief doesn’t deserve a flicker of compassion or process of grieving from me.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. …Murakami said, “No truth can cure the sadness we feel from losing a loved one. No truth, no sincerity, no strength, no kindness, can cure that sorrow. All we can do is see that sadness through to the end and learn something from it, but what we learn will be no help in facing the next sadness that comes to us without warning.”

    I’m not sure I can “see my sadness through to the end” not when I know my Uncle lived his life past his 80’s. A life that touched other’s lives and put smiles on faces. So many people much younger than him are losing theirs—vacating their seats way too early. They “need” my grief more than Uncle.
    The statement “There is no wrong way to feel in grief” doesn’t justify anything anymore. How am I to come to terms with my grieving now? How do I respond to my grief? Respond I must! So I want to tell you that you’re not alone.

    we need to accept our grief and feel it deeply or we will lose our humanity and our survival coping mechanisms.
    thanks for sharing these thoughts. I think I know how to respond to my sadness now. Again, thank you, Deepthy. Please be well. I bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This seems quite Dark! How have you been Deepthy?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Aw I’m sorry to hear that, Cheryl – that sounds quite overwhelming. I agree – that sounds fitting indeed; thank you so much for taking the time to read and share your thoughts ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’ve never thought of it like that before, Sadje! But it’s rather insightful and makes sense – thank you for taking the time to read! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Wow, that’s such a gorgeous analogy, Maggie. I love the idea of ‘gentle acceptance’ – I find that incredibly reassuring! Thank you for taking the time to read and share your take, Maggie – it’s so true and kind ❤️

    Like

  12. I suppose, Cheryl – it never really goes away. Thank you so much for sharing your take ❤️

    Like

  13. I agree, Sadje! Feels like I’m just beginning to get acquainted with it. My pleasure – thank you for taking the time to read ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Haha, sorry Sheereen! I didn’t mean for it to be dark – it’s just something I’ve been trying to make sense of lately. I’ve been good! How about you? ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Absolutely, Selma! That’s something I can deeply relate to and you put it so well – “… I feel unworthy of grieving consider the current wars ravaging others of flesh and bones like me.” It’s such a confusing and horrifying feeling, to not understand grief when we should. I love how you redefined our ‘normal’ here and it’s beginning to prove true with every passing day – we have connected with so many people through our shared grief.
    Thank you so much for taking the time to read and share your take – I found it deeply insightful and reassuring ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Murakami has always had a way with simplicity and his quote here is as true as always.
    I understand, Selma. There’s so many conflicting thoughts and feelings that pale in comparison, even when we’re told that everyone’s grief is unique. And yet that unspoken need to respond can be overwhelming.

    “we need to accept our grief and feel it deeply or we will lose our humanity…” – this strikes a chord, Selma. I’m humbled to hear that. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts – much appreciated ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  17. You’re welcome ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  18. My pleasure, dear one. I hope you feel better soon. Xo

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I understand but I said it in appreciation. How’s studies going? How’s the college n all? Well set now?

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Aw thank you! Well, hanging in there 😂 All good, Sheereen – it’s starting to feel better now!
    How are you doing? ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  21. *HUG*

    this is beautifully thought through, Deepthy.


    David

    Liked by 1 person

  22. A subject that is part of life and that you addressed with great understanding and sensitivity. With your beautiful, admirable, and “old soul” voice, of course. 💞

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Same just hanging in there! Adjusting to the new life😍😂

    Like

  24. Thank you so much 🫂❣️

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Thanks so much 🫂❣️

    Liked by 1 person

  26. you’re very welcome 🙂

    how are you?

    Liked by 1 person

  27. I’m good, thanks for asking! How have you been?

    Liked by 1 person

  28. well, we’re “okay” other than our country being at war 😦

    but we’re ourselves are not directly impacted by the war ATM

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Welcome, D. 🫂 💗

    Liked by 1 person

  30. It’s all so disheartening – we’re so far away and yet, the magnitude of it all is just so hard to comprehend.

    I’m glad you and your family are safe and hope it stays that way. I can’t imagine how hard it must be for everyone there to be so close to the war. Sending prayers and well-wishes 🫂

    Liked by 1 person

  31. wonderful honest thoughts of a dark night so wonderfully shared D. Good to hear your words wash over me❣️

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Aw thank you Cindy – I’m thrilled to hear that ❤️

    Like

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started