“Don’t go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first.”
― Mark Twain

I’m still learning to love you. I think you’d make for quite an intriguing friend.

I admit, I do complain – probably more than the average person. I hate when you spring unexpected circumstances on me or when you just decide it has to be an excessively social day. But even then, when I’m at my most annoyed – you still fascinate me.

You don’t make sense to me most of the time. And when you do, it’s short-lived, fragile and just waiting to topple into a heap of even more confusing paraphernalia. But it’s all so very exhilarating – like there’s a newfound realisation around the corner or a discovery waiting to be met; something that just might solve the next big question.

I hear people tell me there’s a whole world out there every time my questionable social skills are put to the test and I think about you – your quirks and intricacies and how they seem to know you so well and sometimes, I wish I did too. They seem to believe you hand out opportunities, and that you favour those who take the leap and while it is all so convincing – my inner skeptic holds me captive and I’m often left behind.

You terrify me when my friends and I talk about growing up. We reminisce our favourite days from years ago, our dreams, hopes and fears and laugh at how our naivete has kept us shielded from you. But then I think about how you glorify the little wins – how you create slight irregularities in the expected pattern you know only that specific person would notice. It warms my heart when friends and strangers alike remark on something we all missed but was so obvious with a giant beam and happy soul. And it feels like maybe you and I might just turn out fine.

You can be cruel, sometimes to those who least deserve it. While I struggle to make sense of you, there’s something about your dangerous unpredictability that I find also serves as your charm. And when you strike, I think about how many strangers must love you for who you are and what you’ve done, the good and the bad – and I realise it must be that love that keeps you and by extension, all of us humans going.

“And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.”
― Roald Dahl

Thoughtfully yours,
D

Previously on Random Specific Thoughts:

38 responses to “Dear World”

  1. Deepthy! Hi ~ it’s been a minute since I’ve seen a post from you… How’ve you been?


    David

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very profound thoughts. Good to see you back!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 💕
    👋Nice Blog. I’m your new follower.
    🙏 I hope you also follow my blog and we exchange likes and comments on each post. This is how we grow together.
    I am looking forward to your response.
    Thank you so much. Greetings from the south of Spain 💯🇪🇸🫂

    Like

  4. Your words are always so thoughtful…I appreciate you giving us glimpses into your mind. Your posts are always very worthwhile.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A beautifully thoughtful post full of rich prose! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. […] Rae Longest Uncategorized September 12, 2023 Dear World […]

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I have one complaint, Deepthy. That I am not on a cushy chair holding and reading your words in a book. 💗

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hi! Ahh I’m so sorry about the sudden hiatus- I got rather caught up with college 😅 I’ve been good, thanks for asking!
    How about you? ❣️

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Aw thank you so much ❣️

    Liked by 1 person

  10. That’s so kind of you to say, Diamond! Thank you so much – I really appreciate that 🫂Hope you’ve been well, Diamond! ❣️

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Aw thank you, Layla – I’m thrilled to hear you think so❣️

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Aw I’m flattered to hear that 🥹😂 Thank you so much for your kind support as always! ❣️ Hope you’ve been doing great!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Doing okay for the most part 🙂

    Our daughter just started 3rd grade, and she’s really hit her stride at school!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Glad to hear that! I hope it gets better soon 🙏

    Aw I’m so happy to hear that! Hope she’s having fun! 🥳❣️

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Hi! Glad to have you onboard!
    Looking forward to visiting your blog. Thanks for the visit! 🙌🥳

    Like

  16. Truth! I could easily lose track of time reading your stories. 👏🏻 All is well! Thank you. 💗🌻

    Liked by 1 person

  17. You’re most welcome

    Liked by 1 person

  18. What a lovely post so fully of wonderment and joy D. I love it! ❣️

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I started following your blog. My intention is (if you follow mine) to grow together in likes and comments. Interacting daily. Otherwise there is no point in following anyone. 🙏Thank you so much. I await a response. A cordial greeting. Sorry for the inconvenience 💙

    Liked by 1 person

  20. if someday i could write half as good as you, i think i’d be the happiest human alive 🥺 but until then i’ll just get insanely excited and fall very much in love every time i read one of yours

    Liked by 1 person

  21. I think you already write much better, Anoushka ❤️
    Thank you for your kind words – they just made my day!✨

    Like

  22. Aw thank you, Cindy! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  23. You’re so very welcome D💞

    Like

  24. Apologies for the late response. I appreciate the follow! Thank you for your honesty – I’m not sure if I can indulge in daily interaction but I do try my best to interact with posts I come across when I’m online.

    No worries! Looking forward to checking out your blog soon! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Muchas gracias 🫂🙏

    Like

  26. ok the featured image is ABSOLUTELY beautiful 🤍 and the narrative of this post is incredible!! x

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Ooh thanks, Maggie! I had a fun time designing it! Aw I’m thrilled you found it so! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  28. You’re welcome! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Aw thank you so much, Selma! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  30. This reminded me of a quote from ‘Rocky Balboa’ (2006) where Rocky tells his son, “This world is a nasty place and it will beat you to the ground if you let it!” Awesome post!

    Liked by 1 person

  31. That’s a wise quote, Lana! Thanks so much for sharing it! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  32. No problem, D! Thanks so much for sharing your post! I hope you’re doing well, by the way.

    Like

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started