There is beauty even in the ugliest mess, and it’s the artist’s job to find it.
― Charlotte Eriksson, Another Vagabond Lost To Love: Berlin Stories on Leaving & Arriving

I’ve been trying to make sense of time lately. It’s a running joke in my family that I’ve been going to school for an inordinate period of time and that I never seem to grow up because I’m seemingly still stuck in school. I remember the cold but sunny day when I saw my then would-be school 7 years ago. And I remember it was December 2019 when news of a novel strain of virus hit the news but it was far away in China. It didn’t matter.

Then reports extended to countries around the world but we were still in our bubble of monotony – ‘it’ll be gone in a few days, it’s no big deal.’ I was in the middle of my finals and we barely just got it done. The day after my last exam, all subsequent exams were postponed and would eventually be cancelled.

It wasn’t a question of being lucky, it was an answer to how vulnerable we were as both students and humans.

Soon, the life we now term normal was kickstarted, screens were to be my refuge and my angsty 16 year old self was lost in bleak worlds just like everyone else was. Over the course of just 1.5 years, life has unfolded more of itself than it has done in the past decade.

Photo by Lukasz Szmigiel on Unsplash

People I knew and loved were dying, we lost our first pet, teachers were leaving the school and people I’d come to depend on unknowingly were suddenly past the age of retirement and were leaving too and suddenly, there were two batches each, of grades 10 and 12; one prevented from advancing further and the other lost in whether they should be growing or not in the first place.

You see, life isn’t just about growth. It’s about the understanding that arises slowly, the loss of freedom that accompanies it, that single moment of realisation where you discover how the world runs on an algorithm of its own.

Life is about empathy and compassion. It’s about relating to the struggles other members of the human race fight through on a daily basis, those that we were potentially spared from because we or our ancestors didn’t seem favourable to that particular part of the algorithm that seemingly defines life’s mortality and by extension, the mess it creates.

As a student, it’s understandable how, over 90% of my life, has been associated with school, and education is the only sphere I can actually relate to. But as a human enslaved to the beauty of imagination, I can put myself in the shoes of each and every person I’ve come to read about or simply glimpse in the news and I’m suddenly in a dark world where death is a sweet reward, where breathing is suddenly billed.

Photo by Trace Hudson on Pexels.com

And all but, in a mere fraction of seconds, it appears as thought the world has aged at a faster rate than it was dying. The environment’s been blackened, the air rendered unbreathable and its inhabitants caught up in a bloody struggle blinded by life’s pace. And all along, are petty human squabbles functioning in the background as if one life lost wasn’t enough.

A systematically crumbling world, politically wrong, economically weakened, and blackened with the loss of lives. All of it sustained inside a thick cloud of hope.

It’s prudent to say every mess is mortal, that every cloud has a silver lining. Hope is what holds us together. It’s that malleable, golden string of love, woven into lives, erecting a protective barrier around fear to keep it out of sight.

But this mortality that we seem to glorify, for it makes everything all the more valuable, is no longer kind as it once was. I know there’ll be an end to all this because like everything, bad times are also mortal by their nature, but it’s devastating to see how blind fate is, in picking off it’s would-be audience, one by one every day.

Hope can be a powerful force. Maybe there’s no actual magic in it, but when you know what you hope for most and hold it like a light within you, you can make things happen, almost like magic.”
― Laini Taylor, Daughter of Smoke & Bone

Thoughtfully yours,
D

(Featured image by Madeleine Maguire on Unsplash)

Previously on Random Specific Thoughts:

48 responses to “Every Mess is Mortal”

  1. This is sadly true dear D. 💔💔 I really wish that these Corona vacations are gone forever and let the normal days bloom again!! This Corona has made a mess and it’s true every mess is a mortal! But let’s hope that this too shall pass…. ❤️❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Beautifully written, good quote. Thank you.

    Joanna

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Life is about that
    step by step
    on shaky grounds
    of all being
    the innermost
    with the real world
    to unite

    Liked by 2 people

  4. D, D, D… You really do have a way with words, you know?? I’m always saying that, but everytime I say it, I mean it more and more.
    Life really has unfolded itself more than ever before. I love how dark but hopeful this writeup is. <33333
    {hugs💖}

    Liked by 1 person

  5. D, you are a very, very insightful [young] person.
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

    Much love,
    David

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love this! You definitely are very meaningful! I think the pandemic has made life much more valuable!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Beautifully penned insightfully sensitive thoughts, with an excellent opening quotation

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I sure resonate with your sentiments! So glad you agree! I’m with you on that, hope paves the way. Thank you so much for reading 💖

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thank you very much, Joanna! Of course!💕

    Like

  10. Aw I’m so touched you think so! I agree, it’s been a wild ride till now. THANK YOU!! ( There’s no way you could’ve known this but I write ’emotions’ before I start any write and this one had ‘depressing’, ‘hopeful’ and two other words, so it means so much that you felt that!) 🥺💖

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Aw thank you so much! My pleasure! I’m so grateful I have a place to do that! Thank you for reading! 💕

    Like

  12. I’m so happy to hear that, Zainab! Aw thank you so much!! I absolutely agree ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Thank you so much! I’m so glad you found it so!

    Like

  14. Woww..! Such a excellent write dear D!! I truly loved it..!🤗😊

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Thanks so much 🤗💕

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Wise words beautifully expressed. 🙂
    I’m sitting before a window. I would say that 44% of what I see is lush greenery, 31% is pure, blue sky and the other 25% is people-made architecture of one kind or another. If I were to move my head to the right then the green would eat 80% of my view with the sky taking the other 20%. Moving my head the other way would change the proportions again. Point is – it all depends on you point of view as to what you see. And out point of view is (mostly) under out control.
    But, yeah – great article – colour me impressed.
    Robert.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. My pleasure dear..!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Brilliantly written, D! Life will return to normal for you, although there will probably be many lasting changes as a result of the pandemic. As a representative of the baby boom generation, I’d like to apologize to you for the mess your generation your generation is inheriting. I do think you are up to the challenge! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I’m speechless, this rocked me like crazy! Fantastic job as always, D! ✨

    *Deepthy, I’m still in the habit of calling you ‘D’ 😅

    Liked by 1 person

  20. 𝓔𝓮𝓼𝓱𝓪𝓷𝓲 💜 Avatar
    𝓔𝓮𝓼𝓱𝓪𝓷𝓲 💜

    So true. The pandemic has changed our lives in so many ways, but there still is hope.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Wonderful thoughts shared and so insightful Deepthy!💖. I’m sorry about your losses.. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  22. It’s been a tough and testing time. Life has turned into something that really resembles nothing seen before. And dealing with this has been endured by everyone on different personal levels. But like you beautifully say, hope is a beacon of light guiding us all towards better days. And that’s how we must proceed, positive and determined. Lovely thoughts and writing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Goodness, I do relate to this…
    ALSO HOW IS IT FAIR THAT YOUR WRITING IS SO BEAUTIFUL?

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Can you please follow my blog!!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. D, your writings are always so beautiful and thoughtfully written!💖

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Thank you so much! Wow, that was quite a practical example. I agree what we perceive depends on our point of view and much of what we believe can vary according to our perspective on it. Thanks so much for reading and sharing your views!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Thank you so much!! I agree, so much has can already – it’s scary and exciting to see what the future brings. Aw thank you, that’s very kind of you! A few years from, Gen Z will probably be apologizing to the future generations as well. Haha, I hope I am too! Thank you so much for taking the time to read! Have a lovely Sunday! ❤️

    Like

  28. Haha, I’m pleased to hear that, Ana! Thank you so much!! Please feel free to call me D!💕 Anonymity was making me feel guilty 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Absolutely, Eeshani! Thank you so much for reading!

    Like

  30. I’m so happy you think so! Please feel free to call me D! Aw thank you, Cindy ❤️ Have a great Sunday ✨

    Liked by 1 person

  31. I certainly agree – there’s something new and different around the corner now. Absolutely – almost everyone has displayed resilience to an extraordinary extent and radiate so much hope with their personal stories. For sure!
    Aw thank you so much for taking the time to read and share your thoughts! 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Aw it’s been a common experience on so may levels after all, thanks so much for reading!
    AWW THANK YOU 🥺❤️ BUT IT ONLY HAPPENS ONCE IN A BLUE MOON🤦😂

    Liked by 1 person

  33. Aw thank you, Evin ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  34. I sure do and I usually do call you D sorry about that.. Thanks and you have a good day ahead💖💖💖💖

    Liked by 1 person

  35. You’re very welcome. Every little helps, right? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  36. The world has been turned upside down and we can but only hold on and hope for better days to come. Great writing D

    Liked by 1 person

  37. […] thanks to Abby, D @ Random Specific Thoughts, Ash @ Starlight Strands, Millay @ Millay’s Musings, Ahaana @ Windows to Worlds, Jan @ The […]

    Liked by 1 person

  38. I absolutely agree. Aw thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  39. Thank you so much! I’m glad you found it so!

    Liked by 1 person

  40. Yay! There’s absolutely no need to apologise! My name’s been a confusing matter since day 1🤦😂 You too! Have a wonderful Sunday!🤗❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  41. oh YAY… It’s great you clarified it for me.
    You have a great Sunday … I’m still on Sat 🤣🤣🤣 it’s 6 p.m here.. I think 6 pm. Sunday there… xo 💖

    Liked by 1 person

  42. Haha, of course!! Ah time zones are confusing 😂 I hope you’re having a beautiful Sunday now!😂❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  43. I KNOW!! happy Sleeping night!💖

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started