You may delay, but time will not.
― Benjamin Franklin

This is an article written in response to ‘Weekly Prompts by Sarah.‘ This week’s prompt is Procrastination! Make sure you check out her blog, Notes and Notebooks here! She’s a great friend and a brilliant blogger.

Photo by Tuesday Temptation

According to Wikipedia, ‘Procrastination’  is the avoidance of doing a task that needs to be accomplished by a certain deadline.

Etymology : pro- ‘forward’, with crastinus– till next day’ from “cras” -‘tomorrow’.

I’m a big believer in putting things off, In fact, I even put off procrastinating.
-Ella Varner

There is no use denying it, you have procrastinated at least once in your life. So, today I’ll be writing about my tested and successful ways to battle Procrastination. But seriously, don’t try practising any of them as I don’t think they are healthy ways of dealing with Procrastination.

Only put off until tomorrow what you are willing to die having left undone.
― Pablo Picasso

Tips to avoid Procrastination from the Queen of procrastination. (Do NOT follow)

1.I am a student and I mostly procrastinate when it comes to having to learn something for school. What I usually do is I pretend I’m teaching a student, complete with dramatic hand gestures and occasional scolding. Or when I’m even more stressed, I like to pretend I’m filming a Youtube video. I absolutely hate taking photos of myself, very aptly termed as ‘selfies’ and filming myself. So, I get it done in like half the time because I’m terrified of videos and would do anything to just get the damn thing done.

God has promised forgiveness to your repentance, but He has not promised tomorrow to your procrastination.”
― St. Augustine of Hippo

2.Make a time table. Boring, I know. What I usually do is, I write everything that needs to be done in the form of a list and use a red marker to scratch them off when it’s done. Oh, the joy of striking items off a list is second to none.

Photo by Levent Simsek

3.When I have lots to do and I’m deliberately procrastinating, I envision myself doing something that I absolutely hate in the future and that gets me working right away! I hate some jobs so much that I’d go insane trying to do them. Just to make things clear: Hate as in, I hate the subject. I respect everyone and their occupations.

You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today.
― Abraham Lincoln

4. This is an extremely bad and highly unprofessional approach and even though I do it all the time, I would never recommend it to anyone.
Wait till the eve of the deadline. Once I know I literally have no time left, I start working out of fear. And it is not work for the sake of submitting it, I put my heart and soul into it and will stay up till 4:00am if that is what it takes. I’ll work on it till I think it’s perfect. I probably had a week long time but I’ll still wait till the last moment. This is an extremely bad way of accomplishing anything and I am trying to change it. But what can I say? It works for me.

If it weren’t for the last minute, nothing would get done.
― Rita Mae Brown

“In 2005, a study conducted by Angela Chu and Jin Nam Choi and published in the Journal of Social Psychology intended to understand task performance among procrastinators with the definition of procrastination as the absence of self-regulated performance, from the 1977 work of Ellis & Knaus. In their study they identified two types of procrastination: the traditional procrastination which they denote as passive, and active procrastination where the person finds enjoyment of a goal-oriented activity only under pressure.”
-From Wikipedia (yes, I read everything on Procrastination)

Apparently, Procrastination can also have a severe negative impact on those who practice or fall victim to it. Again, quoting Wikipedia, “Procrastination has been linked to a number of negative associations, such as depression, irrational behaviour, low self-esteemanxiety and neurological disorders such as ADHD.”

A day can really slip by when you’re deliberately avoiding what you’re supposed to do.
― Bill Watterson,

I usually procrastinate to read or write. So, to be honest, even if I don’t do anything that benefits the work that has to be done, I still procrastinate productively. And I’m the kind of student that maintains a good rapport with my teachers. I might be the most annoying and disrespectful daughter (and sibling) at home but I’m an absolute angel at school. So, even if I procrastinate a lot, I still get things done. Being a night owl, I can stay up quite late and still wake up early for school. My lifestyle is very wrong and unhealthy but it does get things done. So..

That was all for this post! A huge thank you to Sarah for such an interesting prompt! I had great fun researching on procrastination while procrastinating on a school project. Make sure you check out her blog here! Thank you!

On a side note, this was something of a sarcastic article. While everything mentioned is true, in no way do they qualify as lifestyle or productivity tips. And if you’re wondering what the cats are doing here, I might as well admit I don’t know. I just loved how lazy they look(the tiger, especially) in the photos(from Pexels) and felt like including them.
And make sure you read the quote below, it’s one of my favourites! Stay safe!

You can’t just turn on creativity like a faucet. You have to be in the right mood.
What mood is that?
Last-minute panic.
― Bill Watterson

66 responses to “Procrastination”

  1. Wow this was a really great post I loved it!! Procrastination is something we are all prone to and all have different ways of fighting. For me, I make lists and knowing that I have things to do that haven’t been checked off plays into my anxiety so I get it done but this lockdown has seriously slowed my productivity rate 😂😂 A great post and even though you wouldn’t recommend those tips (the idea of doing something the night before is making me stressed as I type this) it was still great to read ☺️xx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Entertaining to the core. And I should say brilliant writing. You manage to pull your readers by the neck to what you’ve got to say. I definitely was hooked and read till the end. And I should say, the tips are not half-bad, in fact quite doable even if they may seem unconventional.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. oh my goodness, do I relate to this! I share so many of the same habits! I always get things done the night before, and procrastination is one of the biggest things I struggle with. but I still seem to pull through every time? i’m not sure myself how I do it XD
    and wow … that quote of St. Augustine’s is pretty eye-opening! hopefully I can apply the message to my own life…
    amazing post as always, D! I love how you bring attention to topics like these, and I always am able to relate!
    power to the local dreamer ||-//

    Liked by 3 people

  4. These are so great. I want to be the lion!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Guilty!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you so much! Making lists is a great way to battle Procrastination! I’m sorry that stressed you out but that’s my most productive method so far😂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you so much! I’m glad you felt so! ‘Doable but unconventional.’ That just about sums all of my ‘tips ‘😂
    Thank you for taking the time to read and comment!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you so much, Jul!!
    Somehow, things do come together at the last minute. Glad you liked the quote too! And thanks to Sarah for this interesting prompt!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh, they’re not tips as I’ve mentioned at the end of the article. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment!

    Like

  10. 🦁 hear me roar. Lol

    Liked by 1 person

  11. 😂
    But I just realized it’s a tiger in my post! But they roar too,so no worries!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. This was really an amazing post! Thank you so much for participating! I am guilty too.. I am a A+ student since my whole life but I procrastinate😂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Haha, true!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Thank you for this wonderful prompt!! I’m glad you liked it!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Omg I’m totally a 4 if not for the joy of striking things off a list. You’re so good at these tips though. 🙊❤

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Glad you could relate!! Oh dear! They are NOT tips😂. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Haha this was a great post! Ah, the psychology and science behind procrastination… those quotes were so spot-on! XD

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Thank you! Glad you liked the quotes!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Read something like this after a while,

    Quotes are really well arranged and considered…😁😁

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Thank you so much! Glad you think so!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. I agree!! Hehe no worries if it works for you then it works 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Also, I was wondering if you are going to write on the fourth week’s topic?

    Liked by 1 person

  23. No, I’m afraid I won’t be writing that. Sorry, school is taking up too much time.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Oh, no problem! Good luck for school!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Oh the joy of striking items off a list! 🤗😂

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Yes!😂 Glad you could relate! Thank you for taking the time to read and comment! Stay safe!

    Like

  27. Stay safe too! ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Hey, I can’t visit your blog. It says ‘The authors have deleted this site.’ Could you please drop a link here? I’d love to check it out! Thank you!

    Like

  29. It’s password protected?

    Like

  30. I don’t think so. Let me work on the accessibility and then reach out to you again. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  31. I have sent you an email. I was wondering whether you received it?

    Like

  32. Yes. Actually was replying to it. Should be with you shortly..

    Liked by 1 person

  33. Last quote is absolutely great!! “Last minute panic indeed”.
    Being a procrastinator myself, it was quite an entertaining read!! 😋😊

    Liked by 1 person

  34. It’s my favourite too! Thank you so much for reading! I’m glad you found it so!

    Liked by 1 person

  35. This was very entertaining!! My dad loves using that word ‘procrastination’….. I procrastinate alot. Those tips were 100% amazing, creative and abit hilarious. I love to act as if I’m teaching someone to get my lesson done too!! Lolll. The youtube video thing is so creative…. it’s like, “use your fears to get things done”….. GENIUS!!!
    Love, Amy

    Liked by 1 person

  36. P.S. you have the best signoffs!!❤

    Liked by 2 people

  37. 😂 With school being online, they do require us to film ourselves, so now my fears are coming true. Yeah, pretending to teach someone else does wonders! I’m glad you enjoyed this post! Thank you so much! Take care, Amy!❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  38. Glad you liked it! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  39. Oh dear!! Your fears will disappear i hope! Welcome! Stay safe!!❤

    Liked by 1 person

  40. 😂 I love everything about this post! Absolutely hilarious, but 100% true for so many of us (myself included!).

    Your favorite quote by Bill Watterson is true. I wonder what it is about that last-minute effort that makes creativity come alive?

    One of my favorite parts of your post was this line, “Oh, the joy of striking items off a list is second to none.” — Yes!! Isn’t it incredible? I suppose that’s why setting ‘small’ goals just so you can accomplish them quickly is so motivating.

    As for the cats – they’re always welcome! 😀 Thanks for this great post. I enjoyed every bit of it. Sending love to you & yours!

    Liked by 1 person

  41. Oh wow, thank you so much! I’m delighted you enjoyed reading this!
    I think it’s the fear of being left out in the long run that gets us moving at the last minute 😂
    Absolutely, setting small goals just so I can strike them off is so satisfying!
    I’m glad you liked the cats! Thank you so much! Stay safe!❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  42. Great post! Best wishes for the new school year!

    Liked by 1 person

  43. Thank you! Hope you have great school year as well!

    Like

  44. Thanks for sharing. I really enjoyed the write up. I have a guide here, on how to overcome and fight procrastination. Please check it out!!
    https://www.nuellaigwe.com/how-to-fight-procrastination/

    Liked by 1 person

  45. Thank you so much! I will check your guide out soon!

    Like

  46. […] Previously on Random Specific Thoughts:SHEProcrastination […]

    Liked by 1 person

  47. […] They rank somewhere in between, hence the name, Lifestyle-ish. The first post in this category is Procrastination, an article I wrote back in August. The future posts will obviously be completely random, (in […]

    Liked by 1 person

  48. One of my students had this motto: “Due tomorrow? Do tomorrow!”

    Liked by 1 person

  49. That’s a good one!😂 Thank you so much for taking the time to read and share that motto!

    Liked by 1 person

  50. OMG, I think our blogs are alike! Introvert here too. I had written a post about Procrastination as my first post ever!

    Liked by 1 person

  51. That sounds interesting! Glad to meet you! I’ll be sure to check it out soon!
    Thank you for reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  52. Glad to meet you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started